Selected Grey Literature Resources in the Health Sciences
"Information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." (Luxembourg, 1997 - Expanded in New York, 2004), from GreyNet.
Primary purpose is to
identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments -
Clinical Medicine NetPrints
A repository for non-peer reviewed original research. Note: Effective May 1, 2005; no longer accepts new manuscripts. NetPrints already posted will stay available.
"RePORT" (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools) provides access to a variety of reporting tools, reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities. Previously known as CRISP (See announcement).
U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal. Government information links are searchable and divided into topics for ease of use.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Health Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)
Database produced by the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology at the National Library of Medicine. It provides descriptions of research projects funded by federal, private grants and contracts in the field of health services. Each entry describes research methods and preliminary findings of each project prior to formal publication.
Institutional Repository Search (IRS)
The Institutional Repository Search tool includes GreyNet's entire collection of conference papers on grey literature since 1993. This robust search tool allows for such features as 3D interactive viewing of your search terms, the percentages of results based on your search as well as the harvesting of related documents.
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health's OpenCourseWare
Site provides access to the content of their most popular courses.
Minority Health Archives at the University of Pittsburgh
Online archive of print and electronic media related to the health of the four nationally recognized racial groups (Blacks/African Americans, Native Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, and Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders).
National Academies Press (NAP)
NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. May have to sign-in to see PDFs.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Clinical practice guidelines from a broad variety of professional organizations and government agencies.
NSDL - National Science Digital Library
Subject based repository providing access to educational resources aggregated by the National Science Digital Library relating to science, technology, social sciences, and medicine.
New York Academy of Medicine List of Grey Literature Producing Organizations
Resource for locating non-profit and governmental agencies producing grey literature.
New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report
Quarterly list of grey literature documents in the field of public health. You can browse the reports, or you can search the library catalog of the New York Academy of Medicine, which is linked from the URL listed above.
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories maintained by the University of Nottingham, UK. Some theses and dissertations may be available through institutional repositories. Search individual university web sites for access to these materials. Also try University of Maryland's index to institutional reports.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Provides links to grey lit (as well as some non-grey) resources in public health, including newsletters, reports, guidelines, and health statistics.
Virtual Technical Reports Center, University of Maryland Libraries
Site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.
World Health Organization Library & Information Networks for Knowledge
Database of publications produced by the World Health Organization and affiliated agencies, including technical and policy documents. NOTE: Look for “Full Text” link on record to obtain complete document.